Research Prizes 2015 announced

26 February 2015
The Praemium Erasmianum Foundation annually awards five Research Prizes of €3,000 each. The prize winners for 2015 have now been selected.


Since 1988, the Foundation annually awards Research Prizes to young academic researchers in the humanities and social sciences, who have written a PhD dissertation of outstanding quality at a university in the Netherlands.

We congratulate the prize winners of 2015:

Daniëlla A. Dam-de Jong
International Law and Governance of Natural Resources in Conflict and Post-Conflict Situations.
Leiden University, Faculty of Law

Tim Houwen
Reclaiming Power for the People. Populism in Democracy.
Radboud University, Faculty of Philosophy, Theology and Religious Studies

Josse G. Klijnsma
Contract Law as Fairness. A Rawlsian Perspective on the Position of SMEs in European contract law.
University of Amsterdam, Faculty of Law

Felix Schirmann
The Good, the Bad, and the Brain: Theory and History of the Neuroscience of Morality.
University of Groningen, Faculty of Behavioural and Social Sciences

Lisette Wijnia
Motivation and Achievement in Problem-Based Learning: The Role of Interest, Tutors, and Self-Directed Study.
Erasmus University Rotterdam, Faculty of Social Sciences

The award ceremony will take place on Monday 11 May 2015, 16.00 hrs at the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW, Kloveniersburgwal 29, Amsterdam). You are kindly invited to attend the award ceremony, please register here. For more information on the Research Prizes, please read here.