Research Prizes 2014 announced

24 March 2014
The Foundation annually awards five Research Prizes to young academic researchers in the humanities and social sciences. The prize winners for 2014 have now been selected.


Since 1988, the Praemium Erasmianum Foundation awards annual Research Prizes. Five prizes of € 3,000 each are awarded to young academic researchers in the humanities and social sciences, who have written a PhD dissertation of outstanding quality at a university in the Netherlands. This years’ winners are:

Dr Peter A. Bos, To Survive and Protect. Testosterone and the Neuroendocrinology of Human Social Behavior. (Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Utrecht)

Dr Joris V.J. van Hoboken, Search Engine Freedom. On the Implications of the Right to Freedom of Expression for the Legal Governance of Web Search Engines. (Faculty of Law, University of Amsterdam)

Dr Ricky van Oers, Deserving Citizenship. Citizenship Tests in Germany, the Netherlands and the United Kingdom. (Faculty of Law, Radboud University Nijmegen)

Dr Marieke Schouwstra, Semantic Structures, Communicative Strategies and the Emergence of Language. (Faculty of Humanities, University of Utrecht)

Dr Lars G. Tummers, Policy Alienation. Analyzing the Experiences of Public Professionals with New Policies. (Faculty of Social Sciences, Erasmus University Rotterdam)

Important criterion for the award is the broad, case transcending treatment of the subject and the wider relevance of the book for other disciplines. The selection committee was formed by Maxim Drenth, Naomi Ellemers, Rick Lawson, Paul Schnabel and Max Sparreboom.

The chairman of the Foundation, Martijn Sanders, will present the prizes. The award ceremony will take place on Monday 12 May 2014, 16.00 hrs at the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW, Kloveniersburgwal 29, Amsterdam). All persons interested are welcome and are invited to register via the KNAW website.