Former Laureates

Ingmar Bergman

Ingmar Bergman


In 1965 the Erasmus Prize was awarded to both Charles Chaplin and Ingmar Bergman, representing the art of film.
Just as Charles Chaplin, Ingmar Bergman was an exceptional personality in the world of film. He succeeded in making film a means of expression of important values and problems, and gave the composition of his films a distinct personal character. In so doing he continuously made high demands of the understanding of his public. This was possible because his films forcefully interpret, sometimes by means of disturbing images, the thoughts, desires, beliefs, uncertainties, doubts and ambitions of questing man, so that the viewer recognizes, through a glass darkly, the deep emotions of his own soul. Bergman was deeply interested in metaphysics and in religious questions. These qualities and the great influence of his work on younger filmmakers were the motivation for the award of the Erasmus Prize to Ingmar Bergman. Ingmar Bergman was born in 1918 in Uppsala, the son of a preacher. He felt drawn to the theatre, and after a university education succeeded in attaining a leading position as director and theatre manager. In 1944 he entered film as a scriptwriter. The medium appealed to him so much that he went on to direct dozens of films, usually based on his own scenarios. His best known films include: The Seventh Seal (1957), Wild Strawberries (1957), The Silence (1964), Persona (1966), Scenes from a Marriage (1974), and Fanny and Alexander (1982). In 2003 he made his last movie for television, Saraband. Ingmar Bergman died in 2007.

Ingmar Bergman allocated his share of the Erasmus Prize to grants for young film makers from various countries. In the Netherlands a grant was awarded to Adriaan Ditvoorst; in France to Philippe Parrain; in Norway to Paul Løkkeberg; in Finland to Risto Jawa.

Ingmar Bergman filming on location

Director Ingmar Bergman shooting on location. The Erasmus Prize 1965 was awarded to Ingmar Bergman and Charles Chaplin.

Modern Times

The actor and filmmaker Charles Chaplin was awarded the Erasmus Prize in 1965, together with director Ingmar Bergman.